Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla conducts the Concertgebouw Orchestra

Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla conducts the Concertgebouw Orchestra

Apr 20, 2023
Main Hall, Het Concertgebouw, Concertgebouwplein 10, 1071 LN
From 26 euros

Seize the chance to experience the sound of one of the most renowned orchestras in the world, the Concertgebouw Orchestra, conducted for the first time by Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla, one of the eminent conductors of our time.

In this captivating concert, the orchestra will be joined by world-class pianist Gabriela Montero playing Tchaikovsky's Piano Concerto No. 1. Works by the composers Weinberg and Šerkšnytė will also be performed in this exciting programme.

Concertgebouw Orchestra, conducted by Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla

Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla was born into a musical family in Vilnius, Lithuania. Following the footsteps of her father,  a choir conductor, she pursued studies at the University of Music and Arts Graz before moving on to the conservatoires of Leipzig and Münich.

In 2009, she was Kurt Masur’s assistant at the Orchestre National de Paris; in 2010 she made her operatic debut with Verdi’s La traviata, and she subsequently made her debut with the Gustav Mahler Youth Orchestra at the Salzburger Festspiele.

Gražinytė-Tyla was named music director of the city of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra in February 2016 following in the footsteps of Sir Simon Rattle, Sakari Oramo and Andris Nelsons.

Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla is a highly sought-after guest conductor all over the world. Recent highlights include European tours with the city of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, and performances with the London Symphony Orchestra, the NDR Elbphilharmonie, Los Angeles Philharmonic, and the national Symphony Orchestra in Washington D.C. Now, she makes her long awaited debut with the Concertgebouw orchestra.


  • Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla - conductor
  • Gabriela Montero - Piano
  • Concertgebouw Orchestra

Concert programme

  • Raminta Šerkšnytė - De Profundis (Dutch premiere)
  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky - Piano Concerto No. 1
  • Mieczyslaw Weinberg - Symphony No. 3

All up-to-date information about this concert can be found on the Concertgebouw Orchestra's website.

Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra

The Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra was founded in 1888. Its distinctive sound has made it one of the world’s leading orchestras. 

The orchestra is famous for its renditions of works by Gustav Mahler, Richard Strauss and Anton Bruckner, and for its long-standing concert traditions such as the St Matthew Passion in the week before Easter and the Christmas Matinee. It has always worked closely with contemporary composers.

World-famous guest conductors such as Riccardo Chailly, Iván Fischer, Daniel Harding and Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla will be coming to Amsterdam to lead the orchestra next season. 

The Concertgebouw Orchestra has had just seven chief conductors to date. The eighth was announced on 10 June 2022: Klaus Mäkelä will be joining as artistic partner starting in the 2022-23 season and will become chief conductor in 2027. This season sees five extraordinary programmes with Klaus Mäkelä at the helm. 

Buy your tickets

Buy your tickets in advance on the Concertgebouw Orchestra's website and get to experience one of the top orchestras in the Netherlands playing in the acoustical wonder that is the Concertgebouw. Plus, drinks are included in the ticket price - book your tickets today!

Thumb photo: Frans Jansen