Beethoven’s Seventh Symphony conducted by Joana Mallwitz

Beethoven’s Seventh Symphony conducted by Joana Mallwitz

Apr 06, 2024
Main Hall, Concertgebouw, Concertgebouwplein 10, 1071 LN
From 17 euros

At the next concert in the series known as "Essentials",  you can get acquainted with Beethoven’s breathtaking Seventh Symphony conducted by Joana Mallwitz with a lively introduction (in Dutch) by Thomas Vanderveken. Get your tickets today!

The Essentials series introduces you to the masterpieces you will be happy to know, performed by the world-famous Concertgebouw Orchestra and complete with a lively introduction by the incomparable Thomas Vanderveken. At Essentials, the Concertgebouw welcomes a new generation of music lovers, and the concerts typically have a pleasant informal atmosphere.

Witness Beethoven’s Seventh performed by the Concertgebouw Orchestra

Joana Mallwitz leads the Concertgebouw Orchestra in Beethoven’s Seventh Symphony: undoubtedly one of his most beautiful and compelling symphonies. The work’s premiere in 1813 was one of the greatest triumphs of Beethoven’s life. Almost immediately, the Allegretto movement began to lead a life of its own, and it still turns up periodically in film and TV soundtracks. And indeed, Beethoven is everywhere; we simply can’t get enough of his music. 

Beethoven’s Seventh always sounds fresh and modern thanks to its relentless, timeless energy. Richard Wagner described the finale as "the apotheosis of the dance", while conductor Iván Fischer labelled the work "nineteenth-century rock music". Experience it first-hand at Essentials!

For additional information visit Essentials: Beethoven’s Seventh - Concertgebouworkest

essentials series Concertgebouw

Joana Mallwitz conducts the Concertgebouw Orchestra

Joana Mallwitz is chief conductor of the Nuremberg State Theater since 2019. From 2014 to 2018 she was General Music Director of Theater Erfurt, the youngest person in Europe to hold such a position.

The German-born musician made her debut aged 20, when in 2006 she conducted Puccini’s Madama Butterfly as a last minute replacement. This launched her on a very successful career path that has taken her all over the world. 

Mallwitz was named "Conductor of the Year" in 2019 by German monthly Opernwelt. The Süddeutsche Zeitung praised Mallwitz as a "stage director in sound".

In Nuremberg, Mallwitz has conducted performances of Prokovieff’s War and Peace and Wagner’s Lohengrin, among other productions, to much acclaim. In 2020, Joana Mallwitz became the first female conductor in history to lead an entire opera production at the Salzburg Festival, conducting Mozart’s Cosí fan tutte.

In June 2023, Mallwitz made her first appearance with the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, conducting Dvořák’s Rusalka at the Dutch National Opera.

Concert programme

  • Zoltan Kodály - Dances of Galánta
  • Béla Bartók - Piano Concerto No. 3
  • Ludwig van Beethoven - Symphony No. 7


  • Joana Mallwitz (Conductor)
  • Igor Levit (Piano)
  • Concertgebouw Orchestra


The Concertgebouw Orchestra

The Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra was founded in 1888. Its distinctive sound has made it one of the world’s leading orchestras. 

The orchestra is famous for its renditions of works by Gustav Mahler, Richard Strauss and Anton Bruckner, and for its long-standing concert traditions such as the St Matthew Passion in the week before Easter and the Christmas Matinee. It has always worked closely with contemporary composers. World-famous guest conductors such as Riccardo Chailly, Iván Fischer, Antonio Pappano, Myung-whun Chung and Joanna Mallwitz will be coming to Amsterdam to lead the orchestra next season. 

The Concertgebouw Orchestra has had just seven chief conductors to date. The eighth was announced on June 10, 2022: Klaus Mäkelä joined as artistic partner in the 2022-23 season and will become chief conductor in 2027. The coming season sees five extraordinary programmes with Klaus Mäkelä at the helm. 

Buy your tickets now!

A free glass of wine and use of the staffed cloakroom are included in the price of admission. Get your tickets on the Concertgebouw Orchestra website.