Inburgeringsexamen - Civic Integration Exam

Inburgeringsexamen - Civic Integration Exam

Most immigrants to the Netherlands from outside the EU have to sit the Inburgeringsexamen (civic integration exams) in order to get a Dutch resident permit or to apply for Dutch citizenship.

Please note that it is also possible to take a Staatsexamen NT2 in either Programma I or Programma II instead. A CNaVT certificate for profile PMT, PPT, PTHO or PAT also exempts you from the Dutch language exams.

Structure of the Inburgeringsexamen

The Inburgeringsexamen is designed to ensure migrants to the Netherlands have a basic understanding of the Dutch language and culture. There are five sections with questions concerning Dutch laws and customs:

  • Knowledge of Dutch society
  • Speaking competence
  • Listening competence
  • Reading competence
  • Writing competence

Inburgeringsexamen levels

Newcomers are tested on all sections at an A2 level, while migrants who have been here for longer are permitted to take the writing and reading competence sections at an A1 level. Check with your gemeente to see if you are considered an "old" or "new" comer.

For more information, go the Inburgeringsexamen section of the DUO website (in Dutch). Many language schools also offer Dutch courses to prepare students for the Inburgeringsexamen.

Read also