Concertgebouworkest plays Rossini, Mozart and Haydn

Concertgebouworkest plays Rossini, Mozart and Haydn

Dec 11, 2019Dec 12, 2019
Concertgebouw Main Hall, Concertgebouwplein 10, 1071 LN
From 24 euros (including drinks)

Enjoy the Concertgebouworkest on December 11-12 with a special 50% discount on tickets!

Iván Fischer conducts the Concertgebouworkest in a diverse classical programme featuring Haydn’s Symphony No. 102 and two overtures by Rossini. The violist Tabea Zimmermann, who is serving as artist-in-residence with the orchestra this season, is giving a solo performance alongside violinist Isabelle Faust in Mozart’s Sinfonia Concertante.

Rossini, Mozart and Haydn with renowned soloists

Here's what you need to know:

Mozart’s Sinfonia Concertante

Special discount: 50% off ​​​​​​tickets with promotional code "CO1112IMX".

Mozart’s Sinfonia Concertante is an exuberant orchestral work featuring two first-rate soloists. In addition to the violin part, performed by the phenomenal Isabelle Faust, the beautiful, dark tones of artist-in-residence Tabea Zimmermann’s viola play a leading role. And as is often the case with Mozart, the exuberant orchestral part is full of opera-like "question-and-answer games".

Rossini and Haydn

L’italiana in Algeri (The Italian Girl in Algiers) definitively established the twenty-one-year-old Rossini as an opera composer. Right from the overture, it’s clear that this is a comedy. Equally vibrant is the overture to "La gazza ladra" (The Thieving Magpie). Rossini blends typically Italian tunes with comical, rousing effects.

Haydn is in good company here. The most playful of the "serious" composers, he was not one to shy away from humour or drama in his symphonies.

Concertgebouworkest and Tabea Zimmermann

About the Concertgebouworkest

Concertgebouworkest is one of the very best orchestras in the world. Time and time again, critics have lauded the orchestra's unique sound, which clearly stands out among thousands of others.

While the exceptional acoustics of the Concertgebouw also play an important role in this respect, no other orchestra sounds quite like the Concertgebouworkest in the Main Hall.

Concertgebouworkest and Isabelle Faust

Special Concertgebouw discount for IamExpat readers

For IamExpat readers, the Concertgebouworkest offers you the possibility to attend this concert half price! Use the promotional code "CO1112IMX" to receive a discount of 50 percent when you buy tickets for the concerts on December 11 and December 12. 

Concertgebouw programme

  • Rossini: Ouverture "L’Italiana in Algeri"
  • Mozart - Sinfonia concertante
  • Rossini - Ouverture "La gazza ladra"
  • Haydn - Symphony No. 102


  • Concertgebouworkest
  • Iván Fischer | conductor
  • Tabea Zimmermann | viola
  • Isabelle Faust | violin

Concertgebouworkest and Ivan Fischer

Buy your tickets

Buy your Concertgebouw concert tickets online. Find out even more about the concert on the Concertgebouw website.