Concertgebouw Orchestra: Klaus Mäkelä – The Firebird

Concertgebouw Orchestra: Klaus Mäkelä – The Firebird

Dec 14, 2022
8.15pm (doors open 7.40pm)
The Concertgebouw, Concertgebouwplein 10, 1071 LN
16 euros

This December 14th, attend a show by the Concertgebouw Orchestra and witness Stravinsky's Firebird by the incredible conductor Klaus Mäkelä at The Concertgebouw in Amsterdam. 

Stravinsky’s Firebird - Klaus Mäkelä 

Klaus Mäkelä is without a doubt one of the most talented and visionary conductors of the current world. His brilliant debut in 2020 prompted the Concertgebouw Orchestra to invite him back several times. Now, he leads the orchestra in The Firebird, the colourful ballet music which marked Igor Stravinsky’s international breakthrough.

After the premiere, Serge Rachmaninoff allegedly exclaimed, "Great God! What a work of genius this is! This is true Russia!" Instead of the shorter suite, which is usually performed in concert, the Concertgebouw Orchestra will perform the complete ballet score.

Before the interval, visitors will have the opportunity to witness the world première of Alexander Raskatov’s Oboe Concerto, composed for the Concertgebouw Orchestra and the principal oboist Alexei Ogrintchouk. Klaus Mäkelä opens the concert with an exciting work by his young compatriot Sauli Zinojev. Although inspired by recent dramatic historic events, Batteria is not a political statement, but, according to the composer, "purely and simply humane art from one individual to another, privately and personally".

Klaus Mäkelä conducts the Concertgebouw Orchestra

Klaus Mäkelä is an artistic partner of the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra from the 2022-2023 season and will be named chief conductor from 2027.

As an artistic partner, Klaus Mäkelä will be working extensively with the Concertgebouw Orchestra. In the 2022-2023 season, the Finnish conductor will be closely collaborating with the orchestra in five different programmes. In the following years, the number will continue to increase with each season.

Klaus Mäkelä

Concert programme:

  • Sauli Zinovjev - Batteria
  • Alexander Raskatov - Times River (oboe concerto, commission, world premiere)
  • Igor Stravinsky - The Firebird (version 1910)

Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra

The Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra was founded in 1888. Its distinctive sound has made it one of the world’s leading orchestras.

The orchestra is famous for its renditions of works by Gustav Mahler, Richard Strauss and Anton Bruckner, and for its long-standing concert traditions such as the St Matthew Passion in the week before Easter and the Christmas Matinee. It has always worked closely with contemporary composers.

World-famous guest conductors such as Riccardo Chailly, Iván Fischer, Daniel Harding and Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla will be coming to Amsterdam to lead the orchestra next season.

The Concertgebouw Orchestra has had just seven chief conductors to date. The eighth was announced on June 10, 2022: Klaus Mäkelä will be joining as artistic partner starting in the 2022-23 season and will become chief conductor in 2027. The coming season sees five extraordinary programmes with Klaus Mäkelä at the helm.

Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra

Get your tickets to The Firebird!

Get your tickets to the Concertgebouw Orchestra concert The Firebird by Klaus Mäkelä on the official Concertgebouw Orchestra website