The Netherlands

The Netherlands

The Netherlands, a country known for its tall people, windmills, tulips, clogs, canals and flatness, as well as its progressiveness and directness. A country with more than 17 million inhabitants, living on just 41,543 square kilometres!

Perhaps you are here because of a job transfer or because you have family living here. Whatever your reasons, we welcome you to the Netherlands!

How well do you know the Netherlands?

How well do you know this small country in northern Europe? For instance, did you know that Amsterdam was founded in 1275, but the Kingdom of the Netherlands did not exist until 1814? Or that the country was the first in the world to launch a scheduled air service and to allow same-sex marriage? Do you want to brush up on your knowledge of the Dutch and their country?

Some quick facts about the Netherlands

Here are some quick facts to help you on your way:

  • Official national language: Dutch 
  • Official Regional languages: West Frisian, English and Papiamento
  • Motto: “Je maintiendrai” (I will uphold)
  • Anthem: Wilhelmus
  • Capital: Amsterdam
  • Government: Unitary parliamentary constitutional monarchy
  • Monarch: King Willem-Alexander
  • Currency: Euro

History of the Netherlands

When was the Kingdom of the Netherlands founded and by whom? When was Vincent van Gogh born? When did Dutch women get the vote? Here is a handy list of important dates in Dutch history.

Statistics & facts

How many provinces are there in the Netherlands? Is voting compulsory? What’s the difference between Holland and the Netherlands? Why is orange the national colour? Check out the Dutch Statistics page and the Interesting & Fun Facts page to find out!

Dutch government

As stated above, the Netherlands is a unitary parliamentary constitutional monarchy, consisting of a head of state (King Willem-Alexander) and a Council of Ministers. The Dutch parliament consists of two houses: The Senate (Eerste Kamer, 75 seats) and the House of Representatives (Tweede Kamer, 150 seats). Every four years elections are held. Find out more about the structure of the Dutch government.

Dutch monarchy

The Kingdom of the Netherlands is a monarchy. The first King of the Netherlands was William I (Willem Frederik, Prince of Orange-Nassau, 1815-1840), and the country’s longest reigning monarch was Queen Wilhelmina, daughter of William III. She reigned from 1890-1948, 58 years in total. She was only 10 when she came to the Dutch throne in 1890.

Today, the reigning monarch of the Netherlands is King Willem-Alexander. His mother, Princess Beatrix (then Queen Beatrix) abdicated on April 30, 2013, making her son the youngest monarch in Europe. Read more about Monarchy in the Netherlands.

Notable Dutch people

Yes, the Netherlands is a small country, but it was/is home to some “big” people. Here are some famous Dutch people throughout history: Rembrandt, Vincent van Gogh, Johannes Vermeer, Piet Mondriaan, M.C. Escher, Anne Frank, Mata Hari, Johan Cruijff, Ruud Gullit, Robin van Persie, Famke Janssen, Carice van Houten, Rutger Hauer, Doutzen Kroes, Paul Verhoeven, Tiësto, Armin van Buuren, Anton Corbijn.

Video about the Netherlands

Read also