Six Dutch cities vying to become the European Capital of Culture in 2018

In 2013, a committee of Dutch and international cultural experts will decide which Dutch city will become the Netherlands sole bid for European Capital of Culture in 2018.

There are six candidates: The Hague, Utrecht, Maastricht, the joint proposal of Brabant City (Breda, Eindhoven, Helmond, Den Bosch, Tilburg and surrounding areas), Almere and Friesland, which are all putting in solid challenges for the honour.

Every year, two European cities are selected to become a Capital of Culture, which will then plan a year-long programme of cultural events.

The Capital of Culture highlights the richness, diversity and common aspects of European cultures, promoting mutual understanding among Europeans, and fostering a sense of belonging to the same "European" community.

The bids need to be submitted by October this year, and each candidate city will need to submit a programme for 2018, and a bid book with their presentation.

James Shaw


James Shaw

James is an assistant editor at IamExpat, and is the newest member of the team. Interests include travelling, parties, and his beloved Manchester United. From Manchester, UK, but now living...

Read more



Leave a comment