Flight ban replaced by mandatory quarantine for 25 countries

Flight ban replaced by mandatory quarantine for 25 countries

The flight ban imposed on high-risk countries by the Dutch government has been lifted from June 1. Instead, all travellers from South Africa, India, and South America will be required to go into quarantine for 10 days upon arrival in the Netherlands

Travellers from Sweden, India, and South Africa to quarantine for 10 days

The law states that travellers will be required to present a quarantine statement and a recent negative coronavirus test upon arrival in the Netherlands, and will have to quarantine for 10 days, but can choose to get tested for coronavirus after only five days in isolation. If the test is negative, they can come out of quarantine. The rule applies to all travellers, regardless of their mode of transport. 

Travellers from high-risk countries and countries with a new and dangerous coronavirus mutation will be required to quarantine: 

  • Argentina
  • Bahrain
  • Bolivia
  • Brazil 
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Cyprus
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • French Guyana
  • Guyana
  • Cape Verde
  • Lithuania
  • Maldives
  • India
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Seychelles
  • Suriname
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela
  • South Africa
  • Sweden

Failing to comply with the government’s quarantine rule will result in a 435-euro fine. 

Dutch government sets several exemptions to quarantine rule

While the government’s flight ban has been lifted from Tuesday, the EU entry ban remains in effect. Therefore, only travellers who are exempt from the EU’s travel restrictions will be allowed to enter the country.

There are, of course, a handful of exceptions to the mandatory quarantine rule. For example, if the travellers are attending a funeral or visiting a sick relative in the Netherlands. However, even if they are not expected to quarantine, all travellers will have to present a quarantine statement.

Visit the government's website for more information about the Dutch quarantine rule and EU entry ban.

Victoria Séveno


Victoria Séveno

Victoria grew up in Amsterdam, before moving to the UK to study English and Related Literature at the University of York and completing her NCTJ course at the Press Association...

Read more



Leave a comment