EU reintroduces negative travel advice for US and Israel

EU reintroduces negative travel advice for US and Israel

On Monday, the European Union removed six countries, including the United States and Israel, from its so-called whitelist, in response to a rising number of coronavirus infections.

EU reinstates entry ban for US and Israel

In order to secure a spot on the EU’s travel whitelist, a country must report fewer than 75 cases of COVID-19 per day per 100.000 inhabitants over a two-week period. In line with the criteria outlined by the EU, the following six countries have been removed from the union’s travel safe list:

  • The United States
  • Israel
  • Lebanon
  • Montenegro
  • North Macedonia
  • Kosovo

EU member states are not required to adhere to the travel advice issued by the union, but the latest adjustment to the bloc’s whitelist means non-essential travel to the above-mentioned nations is subject to (temporary) travel restrictions. 

The Dutch government has updated its list of non-EU safe countries. As of September 4, the EU entry-ban will once again apply to the above-mentioned countries, and travellers flying from the US and Israel will only be allowed to enter the Netherlands if they are fully vaccinated (or fall under one of the other exemptions) and will be required to quarantine for at least five days. In addition to this, from September 4, both Germany and Hungary will also be considered high-risk, and will change from green to yellow.

Dutch government: No mandatory quarantine for EU safe countries

As of August 30, the following countries continue to be exempted from the EU’s entry ban:

  • Albania
  • Armenia
  • Australia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Brunei
  • Canada
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • New Zealand
  • Qatar
  • Moldova
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Serbia
  • Singapore
  • South Korea
  • Ukraine
  • China (subject to confirmation of reciprocity)

Travellers arriving in the Netherlands from one of the safe countries are not required to quarantine, but are requested to present proof of vaccination, proof of recent recovery from COVID-19, or a negative test result.

Victoria Séveno


Victoria Séveno

Victoria grew up in Amsterdam, before moving to the UK to study English and Related Literature at the University of York and completing her NCTJ course at the Press Association...

Read more



Leave a comment

DaveCambridge2 16:38 | 31 August 2021

Is there any indication when the Dutch government would add the US to the list of non-EU safe countries and make it official? Based on what happened in the past when countries are added to the "not safe" list, does anyone know if when they make it official, would it go into effect immediately or would they set the date out a few days?