EU lifts entry ban for eight countries including USA and Hong Kong

EU lifts entry ban for eight countries including USA and Hong Kong

The European Union has further relaxed its travel restrictions, lifting the entry ban for an additional eight countries. The new travel rules come into effect on June 24 in the Netherlands.

EU entry restrictions lifted for the United States

The updated travel rules were confirmed on June 18, with travel restrictions lifted for eight countries, including the United States and Hong Kong. 14 countries now make up the EU’s whitelist: 

  • Albania
  • Australia
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Lebanon
  • New Zealand
  • Republic of North Macedonia
  • Rwanda
  • Serbia
  • Singapore
  • South Korea
  • Thailand
  • United States of America
  • China (subject to confirmation of reciprocity)

Coronavirus travel restrictions will be reviewed fortnightly

According to EU rules, non-essential travel between the above countries and member states is once again allowed. More countries will continue to be added to the list, as long as they record fewer than 75 cases of COVID-19 per 100.000 inhabitants within 14 days. The list will be reviewed and updated every two weeks.

According to the Dutch government, travellers from these 14 countries will not be required to quarantine upon arrival in the Netherlands, and will not need to present a recent negative coronavirus test. While the rule change does mean that those from outside the EU will more easily be able to visit one of the 27 member states, it’s important to note that while travellers from the US, for example, can visit the EU, those from the EU may not be permitted entry to the US. 

Victoria Séveno


Victoria Séveno

Victoria grew up in Amsterdam, before moving to the UK to study English and Related Literature at the University of York and completing her NCTJ course at the Press Association...

Read more



Leave a comment