Dutch DJs get their own stamps

PostNL is honouring the Netherlands’ leading role in the electronic dance music scene by releasing a new stamp set featuring five world-famous Dutch DJs.

The five disc jockeys, depicted in psychedelic colours and patterns reminiscent of show lighting, are Hardwell, Armin van Buuren, Tiesto, Afrojack and Dash Berlin.

Global leaders in dance music

All five of the DJs were in the Top 10 of dance magazine DJ Mag’s Top 100 list for 2013.

Another Dutch DJ, Nicky Romero, also made the DJ Mag Top 10, coming in at number seven, but was not included on a stamp, possibly due to his fast rise to prominence.

Fragments of recent tracks by the DJs can be heard when the stamps are scanned with the Cee app.

Amsterdam Dance Event

The October release of the stamps coincides with the 2014 Amsterdam Dance Event (ADE), one of the world’s largest gatherings of dance music professionals, artists and fans.

At the ADE the five DJs will be presented with their own set of stamps by PostNL CEO Herna Verhagen.

For the rest of us, the stamps can be found for sale at Bruna stores.

Source: PostNL

Beatrice Clarke


Beatrice Clarke

Beatrice is a native Melbournian who moved to the Netherlands in 2009. With a background in independent publishing and fashion, Beatrice honed her understanding of Dutch language and culture working...

Read more



Leave a comment