Types of higher education institutions in the Netherlands

The main types of higher education institutions in the Netherlands are:

Research Universities (Universiteiten)

Research universities in the Netherlands focus on the independent practice of research-oriented education in an academic or professional setting.

In total, 14 research universities and 8 academic medical centers enroll more than 200.000 students and offer three-year Bachelor's programmes and one or two-year Master's programmes.

Universities of applied sciences (Hogescholen)

In universities of applied sciences (hogescholen), students are trained for independent practice of science. All hogescholen have a more practical orientation and thus, Bachelor's programmes specialising in specific areas last for four years.

It should be underlined that after completing a four-year Bachelor's programme, students can apply for a second Bachelor's or even for a Master's programme in (almost) every university. However, a switch programme (one year) may be required.

International institutions

International institutions are also an option especially for expats, offering specialised programmes, which may well suit the needs of internationals.

Dutch universities & funding

In terms of funding, all Dutch universities and institutions belong to one of the two following categories:

Government-funded institutions, which are legally protected and financially supported by the Dutch government and thus, allowed to offer officially recognised degrees.

Government-approved institutions that are not funded by the Dutch government but preserve the right to offer degrees that are officially recognised.

Complete directories of Dutch institutions listed by the funding criterion can be found on Ib-Groep (in Dutch). For a complete list with all the accredited institutions / programmes click here.

"Study in Holland" introduction film

Student survey reveals high satisfaction with Dutch universities

The annual Studiekeuze123 survey shows positive student feedback about Dutch universities, with some institutions scoring even higher.

2015 QS index shows Dutch university rankings by subject

According to the latest QS university rankings by subject, Dutch schools score especially well in economics, business, medicine, architecture and engineering.

2015 Keuzegids: Dutch university disciplines with best job prospects

This year's Keuzegids guide, comparing higher education courses across the Netherlands, contains a few unexpected results in terms of job prospects.

Dutch universities in the 2014/15 QS Rankings

The University of Amsterdam has been rated the best university in the Netherlands, and 50th worldwide, according to this year's QS university rankings.

More scholarships to attract foreign students

The Ministry of Education is launching 1.000 scholarships per year for foreign students to study in the Netherlands and Dutch students to study abroad.

Dutch university association calls for more scholarships for international students

The Dutch university association is asking the government for more international scholarships, arguing the Netherlands needs more foreign students.

Dutch university education system ranked 7th globally

The Netherlands' higher education system has been ranked in the top ten worldwide, a much stronger showing than the country's income level would suggest.

Four Dutch universities make world top 100 list

Four Dutch universities have made the 2014 world Top 100 ranks, and TU Delft has claimed a spot in the Top 50.

Second degrees at Dutch universities more expensive

Studying for a second degree is becoming more expensive, as the removal of government subsidies encourages Dutch universities to raise the tuition fees.

Numbers of foreign students in the Netherlands increases

Enrolments by foreign students in Dutch universities increased in 2013 for the third year in a row.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse IamExpat.nl you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to learn more